Atkinson County Probate Court
The Atkinson County Probate Court is located in the Atkinon County Courthouse at 19 Robert Ave W, Pearson, GA 31642
Office hours are 8:00am to 5:00pm, Monday through Friday.
P.O. Box 855
Pearson, GA 31642
Probate Judge: Carol Durrance
Probate Clerk: Linda G. Davis
Probate Court exercises jurisdiction in the probate of wills, the administration of estates, the appointment of guardians, and the involuntary hospitalization of incapacitated adults and other dependent individuals. This court also administers oaths of office and issues marriage licenses, birth certificates, death certificates, gun permits, and hears traffic cases.
Georgia Probate Website for information on Marriage and Firearms Licenses
The cost for a marriage license is $76.00 payable by cash, money order, or certified check payable to the Atkinson Probate Court. Marriage License Applications will be accepted on normal business days between the hours of 8:00 am and 4:30 pm. Each applicant must provide a valid photo ID, certified birth certificate, and a copy of your divorce decree if you have ever been divorced.
If you have had premarital counseling, there is a certificate that must be completed by the person who has administered the counseling to you. The court can provide you with the blank certificate upon request. This completed and notarized certificate must be brought into the court at the time of application for your marriage license. There is a reduced fee for having the Premarital Counseling class. The cost with certificate will be $36.00.
All applicants 16 or 17 years of age must have both parents present to consent to the marriage license. NO EXCEPTIONS. No person under the age of 16 years may obtain a marriage license in the state of Georgia. NO EXCEPTIONS.
SAVE WAIT TIME BY CLICKING ON THE LINK BELOW to complete your MARRIAGE LICENSE application. You will receive a confirmation number upon completion which you will need to bring with you to the Probate Court office within two (2) weeks of completing the application, along with the application fee of $76.00 and a valid photo ID. The application process will be completed at that time and you will receive your marriage license.MARRIAGE LICENSES
GEORGIA FIREARMS LICENSES
The Probate Court issues firearms licenses, also known as "Georgia Weapons Carry License" as governed by O.C.G.A.§16-11-126 thru 134. Applicants are encouraged to read the applicable law prior to making application to ensure a better understanding of your rights and responsibilities. Applications will be accepted on normal business days between the hours of 8:00 am and 4:30 pm. You must be a Atkinson County resident and provide a valid photo ID. The fee for application and fingerprint processing is $77.50 ($40.00 for RENEWALS if you already have a valid Georgia issued weapons carry license) and you may pay by cash, money order, or certified check payable to the Probate Court. It takes approximately one (1) week to process the application and receive a response from the GBI. The license is valid for five (5) years, at which time you must reapply for a new license. New licenses will be mailed to you. Be aware that prior convictions for certain offenses will disqualify you from obtaining a firearms license. Some of those offenses include, but are not limited to, convictions arising out of domestic violence, weapons violations and drug related offenses, if you've not been free from supervision for at least five (5) years.
SAVE PROCESSING TIME BY CLICKING ON THE LINK BELOW to complete your Weapons Carry License application. You will receive a confirmation number upon completion which you will need to bring with you to the Probate Court office within two (2) weeks of completing the application, along with the application fee of $77.50 ($40.00 for RENEWALS if you already have a valid Georgia issued weapons carry license) and a current Georgia issued photo ID that reflects your Atkinson County address. You will then be photographed, fingerprinted and the application process completed at that time and, if approved, you will receive your license in the mail within 1-2 weeks.GEORGIA FIREARMS LICENSES
Pay your traffic citation online at www.ezcourtpay.com or by calling toll-free 1-800-262-0128 (7am to 9pm EST Monday - Friday).